DIY Jewelry Shelf

DSC_5854

In my experience, standard jewelry boxes only have maybe 5-10 necklace hooks. To me, that is unacceptable. I have at least 35,000 necklaces. Ok maybe not quite that many. But I think it’s safe to say that a lot of people have a few more than 10.

So, where do all the extras go? I’ll tell you where: a necklace graveyard, where they sit for year upon year, slowly working themselves into an impossible, mind-bending hell-knot.

Dear God!!!
Dear God!

In answer to this grievous problem, I decided to make a simple, classy jewelry rack of my own. Here’s how I did it:

Stuff you need:

  1. A marble door saddle. I used one that was left behind by the previous owners of my house (actually, finding it kind of inspired this whole thing…it was really cool and I had to do something with it). If you don’t randomly have one of these laying around, they’re easy to find at Lowe’s or The Home Depot. And of course, the marble part is optional. You could just as easily use a plain piece of wood.
  2. A 1×2 length of wood, cut to the size of the saddle.
  3. Gold metallic spray paint – this is only if you want to paint the wooden parts of the shelf. I think it adds a nice touch. Any other color would look great, too.
  4. Cup hooks. How many? That depends on how close you want to space your necklaces together/how many you’d like to hang.
  5. 2 metal shelf brackets
  6. A wooden dowel, cut to the size of the saddle. This is optional – the shelf brackets I found have a cool, swirly design that allows my to slip the dowel in and out and use it as a bracelet bar.

To Assemble:

  1. Spray paint the wooden parts of the shelf and let dry.
  2.  Screw the cup hooks into the 1×2 plank. As I said, how many you add is a matter of how much jewelry you want to hang, as well as the amount of mental fortitude and patience you have.

    Sooooo many. I took me six months to put all these in. And I lost both my thumbs.
    Sooooo many. It took me six months to put all these in. And I lost both my thumbs.
  3. Attach the 1×2  plank to the shelf brackets. Be sure to leave enough room behind the wood so that the marble fits in snugly.
  4. Mount the brackets onto the wall.

    Awaiting the marble...
    Awaiting the marble…
  5.  Set the marble door stop/fantastically classy shelf behind the 1×2 plank.

    Ta-da!!!
    Ta-da!!!
  6. If you’re doing the bracelet bar, slide it in through the bottom swooshy part of the brackets.
  7. Untangle all your sad, forgotten jewelry (this may take up to 6 hours depending on how materialistic you are).
  8. Hang up your stuff and admire all the lovely jewelry you have.

DSC_5863

Don’t you feel more organized and successful now?

Leave a Reply

